Kenyan Legislators to Vet Ruto’s Diplomatic Nominees

Kenyan parliament to commence vetting nominated envoys on 25, October.

Kenyan legislators are scheduled to begin the vetting process for 27 nominees appointed by President William Ruto for ambassadorial and high commissioner positions.

This vetting process will be conducted by the National Assembly Departmental Committee on Defence, Intelligence, and Foreign Relations, under the leadership of Belgut MP Nelson Koech.

It is set to span seven days, commencing on October 25 and concluding on November 2.

In accordance with Article 118(1)(b) of the Constitution and Section 6(4) of the Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval) Act, the Departmental Committee on Defence, Intelligence, and Foreign Relations has organised these Approval Hearings.

These hearings are open to the general public and will occur in the Mini-Chamber, County Hall, Parliament Buildings, beginning at 9.00 a.m.

Clerk of the National Assembly, Samuel Njoroge, invited public members to submit their reservations, supported by written statements on oath and accompanying evidence, which had to be received by his office by the day of vetting.

The vetting sessions will begin with Jane Wairimu Ndurumo, nominated for the position of Kenya’s High Commissioner to Pretoria, South Africa, followed by Isaac Parashina, the Deputy Ambassador in Tel Aviv, Israel, who has been nominated as Ambassador to Abuja, Nigeria.

Janet Oben is nominated for Kigali, Rwanda, and Peter Munyiri is the nominee for New Delhi, India.

Your support empowers us to deliver quality global journalism. Whether big or small, every contribution is valuable to our mission and readers.