SECURITY COUNCIL: Africa Rallies Behind Sierra Leone & Algeria For Non-Permanent Seats

Algeria and Sierra Leone on Tuesday have been elected to non-permanent seats to represent Africa for two-year terms at the United Nations Security Council.
The term of the two African countries will start in January 2024.
Out of the 193 member countries, 188 voted for Sierra Leone while Algeria garnered 184 votes.
The continental body, African Union had earlier endorsed the two countries for the five available non-permanent seats of the global security body.
The election comes amid increasing demand for reforms from African and global leaders, who argue that they deserve more representation on the council given the large percentage of council issues that involve Africa.
The Security Council is composed of 15 members, with only five permanent members; China, Russia, the United Kingdom, the United States, and France.

Your support empowers us to deliver quality global journalism. Whether big or small, every contribution is valuable to our mission and readers.